my SECOND written test (part 1)

Its definitely less intimidating compared to the last time.

“You will need all the time to complete this paper! The best students in the last semester wrote from the start till the end so you better come on time!”

And they did come on time. Close to all of them did at least.

I’ve also instructed them to leave their matriculation card on their desk so that I do not need to ask them for their signatures just to take attendance in the midst of this important test.

And so they brought.

Lucky for them, they were assigned a seminar room to complete the test, with plenty of windows and plenty of light.

A conducive environment is always important when taking a test.

*****

I’ve done all the preparation I could to help them pass the test:

  • A study guide was given to them this time.
  • A portion of the paper was really regurgitation of facts, if they can figured out what to regurgitate of course.
  • The marking scheme were adjusted such that students who are able to answer the questions just using fundamentals are better rewarded this time round. The stunts they have to do with their brains are more like bonus points which they could earn.

It is supposed to be a more motivating paper than the previous.

*****

1.5 hours passes not too quickly but not too edgy either. Majority of the students sort of stayed around to discuss the paper with me after the test.

“How was the paper?” I was eagerly interested to know what their thoughts are.

There were many but three comments lingered in my head:

“It was ok…, but it was definitely not easy,” said a student whom I expected an ‘A’ from.

“It was difficult. You really got to understand,” quipped the student whom I expected to score one of the best.

“I have never done a paper where I do not know whether I am correct or not!” exclaimed a student whom is one of the most hardworking of the lot, whom I expected to get between a ‘B+’ and ‘A’ from.

mySECONDwrittentest

Huh? And I thought this paper was so much simpler! I got to do lots of shitty moderation the last time round. Doesn’t sound like there is any difference in the comments I’ve heard last year.

And of course, I was terribly curious to know how well they have done too. I spent the entire weekend marking all the 41 scripts.

The problem with marking is the mundane nature of it and I tend to lose concentration doing mundane tasks really easily. However, in marking, you cannot deviate the expectations you give to each script deviate too much from one script to another so you really got to push through the marking as quickly as possible, question by question so that fairness can be better maintained.

After marking for about 15 to 20 minutes. I’ll put myself through one to two chapters of Naruto before mugging at the scripts again.

There are some more details which I really like to share but I can only talk more after the marks are officially given to the students and after the appeal period. For now, all I can share for now is that I got a beautiful bell curve after summing up all the marks. Bell curve is often unheard of in a programming module but I got one.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

