Retracing Roots

At last, my family and I managed to made it to the Teochew Festival. Quite a feat especially when Dad didn’t really like to go out. To the rest of us, it’s good for him to go out. Beats having his eyes glued to the TV. And so we drag him along…

For me, it was a time for me to retrace my roots. I’m pretty much the typical new generation of Chinese in Singapore who couldn’t speak much dialects thanks or no thanks to the successful “Speak Mandarin” campaign by the government.. It didn’t really helped that whenever I opened my mouth to speak Teochew, relatives would pretty much laughed at my terrible pronunciation. It was just a weird mixed of Teochew and Hokkien and Mandarin. I can listen though, with about 60% understanding.

Anyway, back to the exhibition hall…

A Teochew wedding must have one of the most elaborated traditions among all the dialect groups. Not to forget, the elaborated dowry the groom got to prepare for the bride.

Dowry (1)

One of the most well-known dowry would be the jewellery set known as 四点金 (Si Dian Jin, roughly translates to “four items of gold”). This, I can be extra sure, is a Teochew tradition, to have a gold jewellery set for the bride. I thought it’s going to look real old-fashioned for the bride to wear a gold chain across her neck. I didn’t realise they could look so exquisite.

Dowry (2)

In the exhibition area were also traditional handicrafts on exhibit sale: clay sculpture, wooden carvings, embroideries and porcelain sculpting just to name a few.

Clay Sculpture

Wood Carvings

I really liked this particular sculpture of the Buddha. This photograph probably can’t do justice to the details the sculptor puts into this.

Porcelain Scukpture

Oh ya. Who could forget the Teochew Opera?

Teochew Opera

There’s also a little museum at the corner of the event hall.

Map of Teochew

I must say I really enjoyed myself, watching the performance and looking at the items much like its a museum. However, I’m guessing that Dad and Mum probably find things a bit on the boring side. Everything is too pricy anyway and that includes the food (which really explains why there wasn’t any photographs on food). I have to second that although I’m not surprised at all.

2 thoughts on “Retracing Roots

Leave a Reply

