Journal

Almost Showtime!

I’ve been really busy for the past three months.

On the school front, I’m working on a new module called “Internet of Things Application Development” which I’m concurrently teaching the students. I’m also asked to submit a research proposal in about two weeks time.

Major personal commitments, it’s Japanese lessons every Monday and Toastmasters every other Saturday. I’m also taking up a course on Coursera, requiring me to submit an essay every other week or so.

And then there was this…

*****

My secondary school, Clementi Town, invited us, the alumni, to play for a concert, celebrating our school’s 35th anniversary. Together with two other friends, Nili and Adrian, we’ve been busy piecing up a 15-minute medley of our favourite songs for the entire band to play. Every Thursday, we also met up in school for band practice, at the same time trying to figure out if we got the arrangement playable. Kudos to Adrian who did the heavy lifting for the music arranger team, the process of writing music was tense but not stressed.

IMG_4273-edit
Scores of the music we have arranged and a brand new shaker which I have bought just for the concert.

For everyone, it was lots of reminiscence and nostalgia. I must admit that only until today’s “additional” practice session, I wasn’t in the state to express the deep emotions and attachment that I would have liked.

Thinking back, it was an amazing three months more at a personal level, working up to 14 to 16 hours daily including weekends on all my commitments. The issue was that there wasn’t time to self-reflect on the work I have done so far.

I try to make full use of my time best as I can. Time spent journeying to my workplace are often dedicated to learning Japanese. On days with no morning lessons, I ran, striving to maintain my fitness for there was no time to fall sick. At work, I gave it my all but a lot of times, I’m also tied up with administrative matters. By the time work was over, I fight the urge to sleep as I drove to Japanese lessons, to band practices or back home. If I am early for Japanese lessons, I would recline the driver’s seat and take a nap in the car. Back at home, I fulfill my personal commitments, stealing half an hour on mindless games and another half hour on YouTube. Weekends are spent with friends and family, clearing up the back log from work as well as personal commitments. For work, I tend to take a long time to prepare for lessons as I absolutely enjoy the process that I often forgot to keep track of time. Weekends are over at a glance.

*****

Today was different. With a two-week break from my online course and the music finalised, I was able to breathe just a little for the very first time.

For the first time, I felt the excitement of listening to my arrangement being played by the band.

For the first time, I observed carefully the faces of everyone who was playing and enjoying themselves.

For the first time, I’ve made that indescribable connection with the rest of my friends in the band.

And of course, being the percussionist who absolutely loved music, for the first time, I’m swinging and dancing to the beat of the music I’m playing, just like old times. Every stroke on the drums, on the cymbals, on anything will not only sound beautiful but look beautiful.

It’s almost showtime.

1 thought on “Almost Showtime!”

Leave a Reply

