Merry X’mas Everybody and Renaissance Rise

It was a difficult decision to go into hiatus from writing music four years ago. After all, music making has been a very big part of my life. I’ve considered music making the first breakthrough in life I ever had which I’m extremely proud of.

I started writing music when I was 14, some silly ballad for some National Day competition, after which I moved swiftly into classical and techno for the next four years. I transited to writing Mandopop and J-pop for the next 11 years.

At the height of it all, I gained entry into the Grand Finals of a Mandarin songwriting competition organised by the National University of Singapore. The prized song was a Tango-influenced Mandopop.

I was formally introduced to the Mandopop scene. Perhaps it was too commercial, or perhaps making an industry acceptable demo was too much work (and money that I need to spend) for my liking, I never did entered the songwriting scene.

I continued writing, for it was a medium for expressing my emotions. It became an unhealthy obsession (I prefer to use the Chinese proverb “走火入魔” to describe the obsession which literally means “obsessed to the point where the fire burns wildly and the person entered into a demonic state”).  I yearn for more audience for my music yet I was afraid to share them publicly as I’m afraid that credit will be stolen from me. “Guard your music well,” my sister used to advice. Eventually, passion ran out of fuel and ideas ran dry. Enough is enough. I need to do something else.

It was probably a state which all songwriters will go through I tried to convinced myself. The year I went on hiatus was also the year my favourite singer-songwriter Utada Hikaru went on hiatus.

Pure coincidence.

But I know I have to stop.

*****

The past 1.5 years, I was trying very hard to do it all over again. I did all these under the pseudoname “the midswing project” and I’m proud to say that I think I manage to achieve a small personal breakthrough:

In this post, I would like to take the chance to thank several people for helping me in seeing a light to a possible Renaissance Rise.

I would like to express my gratitude to gaming company, Life Entertainment Studios, which gave me the chance to write some music for their games. While those works are definitely not my best, it got me started writing something again.

This eventually helped me in a highlight showcase where my alumni band invited two other friends from the band and me to arrange some music. The performance was well-received and a success. Thank you for letting me have a chance to write something classical again and letting me to have something that I can feel satisfied and proud about in music.

Next was an opportunity to meet a Yamaha representative, Andre Anthony, whom came to my school to give a workshop on Cubase, a desktop audio workstation. His workshop opened my eyes to how simple Cubase is; I’ve been under utilising such a powerful programme all along! The best part, he offered to upgrade my Cubase for free! Thank you for inspiring me to do some recordings all over again.

Finally, its was a chance to write music for two special school projects. I will not give more details about the major one coming; maybe my music might not be used either, who knows. But the opportunity gave rise to RITUAL of the CHRISTMAS GHOST. Thank you for that final push I needed to write something proper, at last.

Today, I’m proud to share my music under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. If you enjoy trance music, do give me your feedback about what you think. You can download a copy of the music here:

https://soundcloud.com/midswing/ritual-of-the-christmas-ghost-1

Finally, Merry Christmas everybody!

Leave a Reply

