Positive Life Rules

Positive Life Rule #2: Coffee only after 9am

BlackPepperChickenBurger-editI’m a coffee addict. I need a coffee to start my day. Without coffee, I will be tired. I may get coffee withdrawal systems, such as a headache. I used to have 4 to 5 cups of coffee back in the university and it is my first drink of the day.

And I’m so glad this is no longer the case.

With that being said, there isn’t a need to abstain from coffee. There are a multitude of benefits coffee can give to our body if we drink it in moderation.

Aside from the amount, when we drink it also matters. I would like to recommend that we drink our first coffee after 9am.

Rule #2: Coffee only after 9am (9.30am if you can help it)

The Science

There is a very simple to understand infographic posted on ilovecoffee.jp regarding the science and the time of drinking coffee.

In summary, our bodies produce natural “caffine” known as cortisol. Cortisol productions peaks when we are first awake, between 8 to 9am, near lunch time and near dinner time. What we want to avoid is to have our caffine fix while we are producing cortisol. This makes our bodies increase their reliance on caffine and reduce the production of cortisol.

With a weaken ability to produce cortisol, we struggle to stay awake throughout the day.

So How Does it Feel?

I feel totally alive! I wake up feeling more refresh and more productive everyday! This is despite that I only get about 7 hours or less sleep daily.

If there is really a need to rely on coffee to keep me awake for some occasional reasons, I can feel the effect of coffee a lot better.

For half the time, I don’t need any coffee until lunch.

By the way, although I do not need to rely that much on a caffine shot in the morning to perk me up, I do need some flavoured drinks to start my day in office. I turn to Japanese Genmai Cha (Brown Rice Tea) for my fix instead. I do it without sugar. They are my coffee substitute, it smells great and tastes delicious.

Doesn’t Tea contain Caffine too? Who are you kidding?

Some people used to tell me that tea have more caffine than coffee.

Fact: Tea do contain caffine.

But: The amount of caffine in a cup of Genmai Cha is several times lower than that of coffee. There are some data about this here and here.

Leave a Reply

