Journal, Leadership in Action

My One Week Boot Camp to Saying No

Like many people, I struggled saying “No” to people. Therefore, it was not surprising that I’m usually faced with high busyness both at work and with my personal commitments. Busyness is fine in general, but working on things that you don’t feel like working can be unsatisfying.

In the previous week at work, I was forced to say “No” to many additional commitments. It had reached a point where it was just humanly impossible to complete those jobs. The hardest part about saying “No” was how to do so without blowing up. I’m down with flu. I get irritable easily. I’m on the verge to vent my frustration. I managed to keep at least half of my responses nice although the other half were more of the short and emotionless sort of response. Like what my Toastmasters friends has rightly pointed out, I thought that I might come across as arrogant if my response is too short.

It has been annoying. But I can say that I am glad I was put to the test.

Towards the end of the week, I saw an article which may help me say “No” without feeling all the guilt, without making up stories of how people are going to despise me if I said no to them in my mind. It was about Adele saying “No” to performing at the SuperBowl.

The article ended with a common sense that I had never thought in that perspective before:

“Every time you say yes to something you don’t really want, you’re actually saying no to the things you do.”

With the training and the insights, I guess I’ll be more ready to say “No” next time.

Leave a Reply

