Ideas, Journal

Handling too many interests, too little time – A Thought Exercise

future-reinvention-edit

Future Reinvention
Breaking out from the hiatus, revisiting the past, fusing it into the future.
~ Flex Tio, 13 Oct 2016 ~

A commitment to the nation’s conscription policy comes with its own perks. It gave me some time to complete my work in peace and more importantly, some time to self-reflect.

Once in a blue moon, I will take out my sketch book and draw whatever visions that came to my mind. As usual, I do not have a theme when I started drawing this recent picture. I interpreted whatever I have drawn after completing the drawing…

I took a 5-year hiatus from music and Japanese. Strange enough, that seemed to be what my idol Utada Hikaru was doing in the same period. I supposed most people at our age might probably be doing the same thing, as the spirit of living and adventuring got hold of us in endless cycles. Anyway, I’ve digressed.

Foray into public speaking, learning about soft skills (life skills!), a change in career, board gaming, half-marathons and an unsure but growing interest in facilitation. I’ve grown a lot as a person and I’ve learnt to be more accepting to the world around me in these five years. Life went tougher as expected, but I was marked happier. However, I wasn’t ready to give up the breakthroughs I had in life.

The past two year, I tried to do music and Japanese all over again. I wouldn’t say I failed to deliver after so long, but it had been a slug fest faced with limited success and passion to drive it. Melody no longer flows and Japanese just isn’t that fluent. It didn’t feel that satisfying.

It was also clear that I had way too many different interests and too little time.

One way was obvious, I have to pick and choose, and say no to some of the interests that I had. Of course, the perfectionist will want to have the cake and eat it too.

I was just wondering if a Future Reinvention could be another possible solution?

To me, Future Reinvention involves fusing the past talents that I have and use them in new ways that fits nicely into my current interests, creating a new brand of interests that I can pursue and explore. Fundamentally, it is a “kill two birds with a stone” type of solution. It is what this exact blog represents in fact, exploring symbiotic relationships between my interests.

I know very well that Future Reinvention is going to be a very ambitious project to undertake as I will have to rethink everything that I know about myself, probably even thinking about it in a reverse direction. I’m not quite sure if it is going to work out personally. Yet, my subconscious seemed to think it will…

1 thought on “Handling too many interests, too little time – A Thought Exercise”

Leave a Reply

